Design day in London

Following the recent picture I put up, I felt it was finally time I blogged about it. 🙂 To really get started with our 2nd term and to inspire us me and few friends (Amber, Emma and Tash) decided to take a very spontaneous trip to London. When I say spontaneous I mean, we literally booked the night before which to me is the best way to to it as it made it an even more exciting day out with just enough time to plan!

This whole trip came from our two new briefs of both ISTD and D&AD so we were excited to go along and get excited and visit all the design areas. Our first stop was the design museum.

A very excitable Tasha!

It was great looking around the shop and seeing all kinds of different styles of books and publications from pop-outs to postcard style books. Not always the best idea for my budget though!

After mastering the tube and map system our next stop was Magma books.

Of course I couldn’t leave with buying anything, It was great looking round the shop and seeing how things were design and  how the different formats worked. A big help for our latest D&AD project!

Luckily they were nice enough to let us take pictures around the shop.

I was really interested in the fold out style books and Slanted Magazine which was varnished & pearlescent…definitely inspired me to look at print techniques for my briefs! And of course it would be rude not to buy.

Heres a picture of Emma holding the gold one, this also came in 3 different colour-ways.

Our next stop was the YCN shop and it was great to have an Artwords near by.

The YCN shop, opposite was great to look around and explore, myself and Amber loved the folding out poster books of the locations around the world.

I was excited to finally get my hands on the latest edition of IDN magazine and loved the varnished cover. I also treated myself to an issue of Elephant magazine.

After a great day in London we couldn’t leave without a visit to the Hard Rock Cafe, a very pricey visit!

We all left to a very sleepy train ride home back to lincoln.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Lucy Perkins

I am a Graphic Design student at the university of Lincoln in my final year of study :)

Leave a Reply

