ISTD

As well as doing the D&AD brief, I also produced work to be submitted to ISTD (click here for more information on The International Society of Typographic Designers).

My brief was to re-invent a story called The Waitress by Jack Zipes.

The first time I read this story I fell in love with it and was really excited for this project so got stuck in. The story contained a lot of meaning and represnted the tale of a more self centred girl at the start turning into a very selfless person who has a chair stuck to her back. The chair and the waitress work together to help those who cant walk and bring them together at a resturant until they are no longer needed.

In the story, the chair is described as being ‘light as a feather’ so this was the angle I wanted to focus on.

Because this was a typography project I needed type to lead the design and I felt that having it flow naturally was important, so my chosen format was a concertina book. To keep everything tied together nicely, a second concertina was placed on the back to highlight colour in the design and also keep it all on one side so the reader would not have to turn the booklet over as I felt this would be a break in the story. The 2 pieces where then thread bound together within the folds.

Even though this was a typography project the images were still important to me and I needed them to stand strong so they could enhance the text and bring everything together. To create this, I photographed the feathers to bring in all of the delicate flourishes. As I mentioned earlier the story is about the chair and the waitress helping others and this is what my imagery represents, therefore the feather slowly fades out of the design showing how they were no longer needed. I did this by plucking out the feather strands inbetween each photograph.

It was printed on water colour card to give the design more life.

Here are some beauty shots of my final design.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Lucy Perkins

I am a Graphic Design student at the university of Lincoln in my final year of study :)

Leave a Reply

